dwgwpd home
dec home > dwgwpd home > fees



Pursuant to House Bill H.489 as passed by the Vermont State Legislature, some drinking water program fees increased effective July 1, 2015. In order to provide the Department of Environmental Conservation with the resources necessary to continue to provide services and support to the regulated community, the Department charges fees. The current drinking water-related fees are identified below:

Updated Fees Fact Sheet

Public Water System Construction Permit Applications

Community Water Systems: $900 per application.
Non-Transient Non-Community (NTNC) Systems: $900 per application.
Transient Non-Community (TNC) Systems: $500 per application.
Treatment Plant permit applications are subject to a $0.003 per gallon of daily design capacity.
All construction permits are subject to $150 amendment fee for minor, administrative, amendments.
Note: There is no longer a Construction Permit Application fee exemption for projects funded by the State Revolving Loan Fund. All applications are subject to the application fees.
Public Water

Public Water System Source Permit Applications

Community Water Systems: $945 per source.
NTNC Water Systems: $770 per source.
TNC Water Systems: $385 per source.
Source Permit Amendments: $150 per amendment

Public Water System Operating Fees
Community Water Systems: $0.05 per 1,000 gallons of water produced annually.
NTNC Water Systems: $0.0355 per 1,000 gallons of water produced annually or $70.00, whichever is greater.
TNC Water Systems: $100 per year
Bottled Water Facilities: $1,390 annually per permitted facility; $150 for permit amendments.

Public Water System Operating Certificates
For Class 1A and 1B Operators: $45 per initial certificate or renewal. Operators who are also permittees are no longer subject to the exemption from this fee. All 1A and 1B operators are responsible for the $45 fee.
For Class 2, 3, 4 or D Operators: $80 per initial certificate or renewal.

Well Driller Licenses
Water Well Driller and/or Monitor Well Driller Licenses: $140 annual fee per initial application or renewal, for the duration of the license.

Large Groundwater Withdrawal
For facilities permitted to withdraw groundwater pursuant to 10 V.S.A. §1418: $2,300.00 annually per facility


WW Fees effective July 1, 2015

 Wastewater Permit Fees

Definitions of Terms Used in Determination of Fee Amounts for WW Permit Applications

Indirect and UIC Fees effective July 1, 2015

Indirect Discharge Permit Application and Operating Fees

Underground Injection Control (UIC) Permit Application and Operating Fees

Designer License Fees effective July 1, 2012

Designer License Program Fees




drinkingwater.vermont.gov   groundwater.vermont.gov   septic.vermont.gov wastewater.vermont.gov
VT DEC Drinking Water and Groundwater Protection Division 1 National Life Drive, Main Building, 2nd Floor  Montpelier, VT  05620-3521
Telephone 802--828-1535    Fax: 802-828-1541

State of Vermont Agencies & Depts.     Access Government 24/7     About Vermont.Gov     Privacy Policy

A Vermont Government Website Copyright 2004 State of Vermont - All rights reserved